Inspirational Team Member Shane Lafferty

Written by Sarah May
23 August 2012

Shane Lafferty from Monksland, Athlone competes at the Games for the first time this  week. Shane attends haemo dialysis at Tullamore Dialysis  Unit three times a week. Shane is competing in the 30-39 category.

Yesterday saw victory for Shane in the Bowling singles event when he secured Gold in the Haemo category. Shane played a blinder achieving the highest score among the Irish Team, and Gold in his category. Soon after receiving his medal Shane excitedly stated “I’m so happy to be European Champion, going back to my country with a medal around my neck is just fantastic. Once I get home I’ll have a party and celebrate.” Shane’s mother Breda whom has travelled here to Zagreb with him was overwhelmed by her son’s success; “I’m so emotional about it. I’m just so proud of what he did, he played his heart out I’m extremely happy for him.”

Shane, a popular member of Team Ireland has received tremendous support from his fellow team members. Team Ireland member Lenny Ryan of Tallaght today stated; “I’m absolutely delighted for Shane. To see a his elated reaction to the victory he deserved  really makes the Games worthwhile. He’s a great chap and he played a fantastic game.”Team manager Colin White was also moved by Shane’s success; “It’s moments
like Shane’s win that makes the Games so magical.”

Shane is loving his first Games experience and hopes to come to the Games again in the future; “I am having an excellent time. The team is great, everyone I’ve met is very nice.  I feel over the moon to be here and am thrilled with my victory.”

image

image

Leave a Reply

